Teacher to Trucker

Gallery Random Image

Welcome! Log In

Advanced

Teacher to Trucker

Teacher to Trucker
August 12, 2012 05:03PM
Couldn't get the teaching degree in enough time to keep money coming in, so I've moved on to dream #2 - driving OTR. Signed up last week and already have a week of classes under my belt. Started backing trailers - omg more difficult than I ever imagined. Anyway, hopefully I'll be able to sign on with a company soon and then get my move to Oregon completed. Then it's off on the road where maybe I'll get a chance for a cup of coffee with some of my friends here.
Re: Teacher to Trucker
August 13, 2012 01:16AM
good luck with the driving/ I know teaching is a tougher job.

Gerald
[members.cox.net]
August 13, 2012 02:58PM
I'm a teacher. My brother is a trucker. He makes way more money, but my job is more rewarding in so many other ways. I can't say which is the tougher job, but I know I "live" my job way more than he ever has - teaching is 24/7.
August 14, 2012 12:33AM
Matt,

I wish you the BEST of everything in your new endeavor. It is a very difficult job, but you're a Badger, so I know you'll excel!

I try to tell EVERY trucker I meet "Thanks for bringin' me my 'stuff'", 'cause it is a thankless job in many ways.

Remember to keep the 'shiny side up' and watch out for the 'four wheelers'.

Bruce and I would love to have a cup o' joe with you too!

K

Bruce and Kathy
Suffolk, VA
Gym
August 14, 2012 12:37PM
Hey, Greenleaf, best of luck to you in your career as a truck driver. I'm reading a book right now about a Buddhist cab driver (which, like a truck driver, obviously involves long stretches of sitting and driving), and my one word of advice to you is keep VERY close eyes on your health.